We Will Not Concede to the Trustee Coup on Municipalities

On the morning of Eid al-Adha Eve, the political administration has raided 28 municipalities, stating to have “seized power” through trustees, which is reminiscent of 12 September 1980 coup d’etat from 30 years ago.

There is no difference between the mentality  that bombards the Parliament, the elected public will and the mentality that storms into the municipalities shouting to have “seized power” in a usurpation of the local public will.

We reiterate that the regulation enabling assignments of trustees over municipalities, brought through Decree with the Power of Law, by the AKP administration and Erdoğan violates multiple Constitutional clauses, democratic international agreements signed by Turkey, including the European Convention on Human Rights and the European Charter of Local Self Government, the universal law and fundamental human rights.

Ignoring the voters’ will, rendering local administrators ineffective, this unlawful regulation is null and void for us.

The target of this trustee coup is the municipalities, local administration in Kurdish cities, elected through 65-95% vote rates. This unlawful arbitrary attitude will do nothing but intensify existing issues, causing the Kurdish issuse to become unresolvable to further degrees.

The people will claim their elected mayors and city councils. The people will not yield to this mentality that ignore their votes, usurp their will. The people will not concede to this unlawful regulation.

The government should immediately abandon this perilous step; they should quit trying to take advantage of the recent coup attempt on July 15th

Peoples’ Democratic Party
Central Executive Board
11st September, 2016

List of provincial or district municipality heads that been replaced:

  1. Batman
  2. Batman – Beşiri
  3. Batman – Gercüş
  4.  Batman- Beşiri – İkiköprü
  5. Hakkari
  6. Adana – Pozantı
  7. Ağrı – Diyadin
  8. Diyarbakır – Silvan
  9. Diyarbakır – Sur
  10. Erzurum – Aşkale
  11. Erzurum – Hınıs
  12. Giresun – Çamoluk
  13. Iğdır – Tuzluca
  14. Iğdır- Merkez – Hoşhaber
  15. Konya – Ilgın
  16. Mardin – Dargeçit
  17. Mardin – Derik
  18. Mardin – Mazıdağı
  19. Mardin – Nusaybin
  20. Muş – Bulanık
  21. Siirt – Eruh
  22. Urfa – Suruç
  23. Şırnak – Cizre
  24. Şırnak – Silopi
  25. Van – Edremit
  26. Van – Erciş
  27. Van – İpekyolu
  28. Van – Özalp